Bedtime Reading

Every night Tan and I take turn reading a story to our girls.  It ranges from Bible stories to Disney Stories and everything in between.  Each one of my girls has a favorite story they love to listen to over and over again.  My Rockstar loves to listen to Froggy Learns to Swim by Jonathan London.  She gets excited every time I let her say some of the parts and have the girls interact with me as I portray each character.

I try my hardest to capture their imagination when I read any book.  I even use puppets on some of my bedtime shows.  My Fashionista loves loves loves Are You My Mother by P.D. Eastman (Dr. Seuss series).  No matter what story I read to them I always have to end the night reading that book as well (she can’t sleep without it). 

My lovely 10-year-old Miss A loves when I read these stories.  She’ll sneak out of her room and sit with her sisters as I read, then she’ll go back to her room and read one of her latest books.  She is very into Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney.  She’ll even follow me around the house reading certain funny parts of the book.

I myself like the book I Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.  It’s a tear jerker.  I don’t often read it because of it makes us a bit emotional.  Especially my Rockstar she’ll cry the whole night; but once in a while we’ll take the book out read it and hug each other and eat ice cream ;). 

Tan’s favorite book is a bot his mother used to read to him: Red Tag Comes Back by Fred Phleger.  He still has the book and will read it to the girls from time to time.  It’s nice listening to him read to the girls and their reaction to the story. 

Last but not least is a cute little book that was printed in the late 70’s when tan was a few years old.  This book is one of those “A Read About Me” books titled: Me in the Mousehouse. 

Tan’s mother had it printed with Tan’s name as well as those of his cousins.  It’s the inspiration for the post.  It has also inspired me to get my girls each their very own Read About Me books.  I might even get one for my sister’s baby!  How fun is that!~

~ by favorsforu on March 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “Bedtime Reading”

  1. Love it. Reading to them make one feel young again.

Leave a Reply

