Candyland Birthday Party (Pt1)

A few weeks ago was my baby’s second birthday.  I had planned to have a wonderful and fun Candyland themed Birthday for my fashionita and her 2 sisters.  Sadly I had to push my fiesta back because I became ill.  Luckily my wonderful hubby and mother in law were there and helped BIG Time in caring for me and my girls!

Although I wasn’t fully myself and was feeling a bit of discomfort I really wanted to celebrate my baby’s big day.  Prior to becoming sick I was working with my girls (and hubby) on decorations for the party and did manage to take a few snap shots of them!

As I mentioned on my previous post, I wanted to challenge myself with the Birthday Party Decorations, gifts, favors and games.  One of the first projects I worked on was the invitation itself.  My hubby came up with this great idea of wrapping oversized Nestle Crunch Bars with the invitation and delivering them to our friends and families.  He found the candy bars at our local CVS pharmacy on sale and bought a handful of them.    I made the invitations on the PC and typed up the information and used the Candyland Clip Art I found online as the background.  I don’t remember where I found the clipart (if I did I’d give you your props) I did however remember doing a “candlyand” search on google.  Here is the finished invitation:

Candyland InvitationI had to trim the ends of the paper but the top and bottom I left alone which were a perfect fit for the candy bars. 😀  I just wrapped them and used double sided tape on the back for a clean look.

Next we worked on the decorations.  We looked through our stash of party stuff we had accumulated over time and found some cute colorful decorations.  One of the tricks we did was use toilet paper rolls and decorate them to look like candies.  We used gift wrap paper and tissue papers as the candy wrap and tied the ends with curling ribbon (from my christmas stash).

At this point I became a bit too ill and couldn’t finish any favors, decorations and games, but luckily I had help from my wonderful hubby, and kids.  They craftily created some really cute “candies” that were made out of paper plates, turned in to face each other.  They borrowed my marker stash and designed some really nice mint candies and lollipops.

IMG_3713IMG_3855The lollipops were finished with dowel rods from the craft store and the candies were wrapped in clear shrink-wrap and curling ribbon.  The base for the lollipops is a cardboard box that I had lying around from the kids and wrapped in red tissue paper (again from my christmas stash).

Check back later for more idea for Candyland Birthday Party~

~ by favorsforu on September 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Candyland Birthday Party (Pt1)”

  1. OMG that is great! I adore your work! Guess I am not as contemporaneous as your usual readers! I swear I have fallen in love with this blog… Fabulous writing! You’re an outstanding and talented person, keep up the individuality 🙂

Leave a Reply

